Home > Enterprise 2.0 > Personal and business exposure

Personal and business exposure

My thoughts on blogs

In my eyes a blog is a place for people to share experiences that they may or may not have enjoyed, helpful tips on things that interest them or handy ideas for everyday life as well as a means to connect with world.

Blogs can be a useful to for both the publisher and the reader. In many cases it is the reader who gets the greater benefit out of it, be it a tutorial, a review or a post about an event that happened in the publishers life that has interested the reader in one way or another. However, with addition of the ability to comment, the publishers are now getting feedback from their readers. This therefore has changed the why in which a blog is foreseen, they are now a tool that allows for two way learning and communication.

I have always wanted to setup a blog, however I come across the issue of content. What am I going to write about? Realistically my interests change faster than the wind speed in a hurricane, so setting up a blog dedicated to my interest would soon become obsolete. I have thought about doing a blog on “my interest of the day”, well I guess that is a bit extreme but other than my everyday happenings I have never found something specific that I could write about.

Finally I now have a topic that I can write about, welcome to my blog on Enterprise 2.0!

What should companies really be focusing on?

Over time I have been observing businesses that use social networking tools to make their presence known to the community and through incentives, retain customer loyalty. Many of these companies spend an awful amount of money on making themselves more “findable”. In well-executed cases, this works and the business gets noticed and “found”.

However today I was reading a post by Sacha Chua which outlined an answer to a question she was asked during an interview which discussed making yourself more findable. My answer to this question would have previously been about making yourself look good and pushing for exposure. After reading her post, she has made me realise that the real focus shouldn’t be about spending time (and commonly money) to make yourself findable, but it should be about making people want to find you. When you think about it, it’s so obvious. If you spend time on building your knowledge by helping and learning from people (or product through product development) you will be more valuable to them, and therefore they will find you.

This is where word of mouth is extremely powerful. If you help someone either through sharing knowledge or supplying them with a fantastic product they will not only remember you and want to come back. However they will also let everyone else know around them. For example, I purchased a case from Speck for my MacBook Pro not long ago, which I absolutely love! So therefore I have shown my friends and they have seen the value in it and have purchased one for themselves. Their boss saw it, which therefore led to the entire company buying a whole set of them for all their laptops.

With social networking sites and such advanced technologies available word of mouth has become lightning fast. For example one person shares a link on there facebook page, this link is seen by lets say 200 people. Only 5 of these people might actually have a good look, of which 2 of the share the link on their page resulting in exponential exposure and all you did was satisfy one person.

My conclusion

So today I walk away with a different view on how a company should present themselves to the public. Rather than spending money on advertising, why not spend that money on bettering your products and services just that little bit more?

This has led me to think, why waste time looking and applying for jobs when you can have word of mouth make the recruter want to find you :) Create an awesome blog, share it on your facebook page and watch the hit counter spin! The only vital ingredients are the willingness to help others and quality.

Categories: Enterprise 2.0
  1. 3ricor
    August 5, 2010 at 11:27 am | #1

    I would like to suggest that not only do you try to get your blog views via your personal shares on sites like Facebook or Twitter, but you should also make sure that the blog is fully SEO in addition to tagged so that the platform you’re using is able to find the content you’ve posted and list it in their directory (if they provide that service).

  2. Scott Day
    August 5, 2010 at 11:28 am | #2

    “The only vital ingredients are the willingness to help others and quality.”

    I choose where my hard-earned money goes, and in this money-based society, where your money goes is extremely important. Traditional advertising methods like posters, tv adverts or even a slick salesman (who thinks rubbing my ego or using buzzwords are effective sales methods) simply can’t convince me to buy their product.

    In fact, if anything, I boycott their products.

    The kind of marketing method applied by a company however doesn’t convince me “yes or no” to buy something (I’m of the wired generation, I’ll google it, research it, make up my own mind and get back to you!).

    Simply using “modern” and original methods simply gives me an indication of how forward-thinking and progressive the company must be, especially when it comes it how they treat their workers.

    • August 5, 2010 at 11:37 am | #3

      Indeed, this is why companies should focus on making their product and services awesome rather than traditional advertising. If people are happy they will share it, therefore there will be exposure to people like yourself (I believe that many people are these days).

  3. Sirous- Tutor
    August 11, 2010 at 12:48 pm | #4

    Mrketing is one of the main goals of companies in using blogs and other web 2.0 tools. Marketing of products and freely acquiring feedbacks to improve their products or services. Do they need more than this?

    Sirous Panahi

    • August 11, 2010 at 1:26 pm | #5

      This is true, companies do use web 2.0 technologies to market there company and products. This definitely links to the concept of being found, marketing = exposure. However this type of marketing is different to traditional methods, and if done correctly can reach significantly more people at a drastically reduced cost to the business. It allows for feedback (as you have said) and I believe this is one of the most important sources of information that they should act upon. Realistically profits are reflected by your customers satisfaction, so if you want to get/maintain healthy revenues you must keep your customers happy and your profits will soon follow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

